Life is beautiful…

The Tempest

Posted on: 19.2.2011

It was a Thursday night a few weeks back and my friend and I went to the theatre. For her it was a sudden event as she got my boyfriend’s ticket as he was sick. I had had time to read a little about the plot of the play but she knew very little about it.

The play we saw was Shakespeare’s, The Tempest or Ofviðrið in Icelandic. In a few words the play is about a duke and his daughter who have been stranded on an island where no man lives but one man/creature. The duke is kind of a wizard and has a spirit who helps him make a very bad weather so his brother and other people are lured to the island.

As you may have seen in my earlier posts, I don’t need much to be impressed by theatre. I consider it a gift to be able to enjoy a good show without the need to point out all the negative things about it. This play was no exeption and enjoyed this play. I was a little worried that the text would be to difficult to understand and there would be hard to follow the plot, but I found it easy to follow.

The actors were good and the dancers were a great addition to the cast. The dancers were masqued and as a sat real close to the stage I almost felt like a part of the show when they were dancing. The stage and props looked great and seemed to be very well designed. It had been set up like a castle with a stage in the middle, and sometimes the actors were using metacognition by acting in a play in the play. Finally the costumes were glamourous and beautiful and really added to the whole experience.

This was a very fun night, moderately long play and really fun to watch. I give it four stars and would recommend to adults to seniors, theatre lovers but I wouldn’t advise any group to limit themselves because it really is for almost anyone.

C U L8ER

3 Responses to "The Tempest"

It would be more accurate to say that I knew nothing of the play, except I had heard of a Shakespearian character called Prospero… and I had been very misguided by the film Shakespeare in Love for I had thought the Gwyneth Paltrow-based character was renamed Ophelia whom almost drowned in the end. Very misguided indeed.

However, a brilliant play! A true eye candy, although the plot persay wasn’t the best I had seen (quite outdated to tell you the truth) the whole experience was a very pleasant one.

Thank you Gunni, for being sick! 😉

PS well done with the implementing metacognition into your text… too bad the CU l8er in the end kind of dampens the sophisticated phrasing prior to that juvenile send-off.

Haha thx… that’s me:)

Leave a Reply

