Life is beautiful…

The book of lost things

Posted on: 17.2.2011

Due to my new job as a teacher and a trip to Århus in Denmark I haven’t read or blogged as much as I wanted for the last couple of months. But I’m back now:) Recently I finished reading my first book by John Connolly. I think that normally he writes action novels, crime and thrillers but the one that I read was something else. It’s called The book of lost things and I would say that it is a children’s book for adults. By that I mean that it has everything that we loved about books as children but intended for adults and not kids.

The story is about David who is a young boy that goes into a crack of a wall because he hears the voice of his mother but finds himself trapped in another world. He needs to find a way out again and in the process he has to face all sorts of challenges and weird creatures.

The story was written beautifully and it was very fun to read. The descriptions of things, characters, creatures or landscape were detailed and added a lot to the story and made it more real even though it is a pretty wild fantasy. My only critici

sm

is that there were a few unfinished things in the story, like David’s mental illness that is almost only part of the beginning of the book but isn’t used at all in later chapters. For my part I always need explanation of everything to believe it and I felt that I needed more explanation regarding this world and why David got there. Was this all just a dream or what?

I recommend this book for teenagers and adults that can imagine that “it could happen”, even though it’s pretty out there. I give it 4.5 stars because over all it was wonderful!

1 Response to "The book of lost things"

Remember you can post a new blog tomorrow about our theater trip later this evening.

Leave a Reply

