Life is beautiful…

Twilight – a novel and a movie

Posted on: 1.10.2010

I recently read the first book in the Twilight series by Stephenie Meyer. I know, I know, I’m a few years behind on that one, but I wanted to check out the film and see for myself what all the fuss was about. This first novel was published in the year 2005. As we all know something about the plot of the novel I’ll tell you more of what its about.

I was really excited to start reading but after about 100 pages I realized that almost nothing had happened yet. There are two main characters introduced; Bella Swan (human) and Edward Cullen (vampire). On this point in the story Bella finds out what Edward is. I kept on reading for 200 more pages and NOTHING happened! The two heroines chat for 200 pages about what a vampire is!!! After that there are maybe 70 pages where excitement is built up for the final part of the story which turned out to be quite fun to read. But I, as the reader, had certainly payed the price for that:)

Don’t get me wrong, I liked the novel, it was just a little prolonged. For me it was well written and, as I read it in Icelandic, well translated. I liked the characters, I felt that they were more-or-less believable, all but Charlie – Bella’s father. The plot also seemed to be thought out.

I can’t give it more than 3 stars out of 5 possible though. I would recommend it to readers over 11 years old and especially teenagers. Next, let’s talk about the movie.

As I work a lot with teenagers I have heard much about the movie and the male actors. I was excited to see how well the movie would follow the book and it turned out to be pretty closely. The adaptation was way better than the book though, maybe just because of the  beautiful Robert Pattinson who played the part of Edward. The movie was also pretty convincing so I was happy with it.

Thats it for now, I will add new thoughts if I come up with something:)

Bye…

2 Responses to "Twilight – a novel and a movie"

I know this great and illustrated book review of Twilight by Oatmeal… brace yourself, you are undoubtedly about to laugh out load!

http://theoatmeal.com/story/twilight

Síðan er kvikmyndagagnrýni HFF-meðlimsins Gunna einkar góð lesning: http://zetafall.wordpress.com/2009/03/09/twilight/

PS hann á líka gagnrýni á New Moon, en ég vil ekki skemma plottið fyrir þér alveg strax. 😉

Njóttu vel

Yeah, I read it before I read the books, but it probably makes more sense now:)

HFF 4-life!

Leave a Reply

